Personal tools

Board Members

Document Actions

Following are our 2014-2015 Board of Directors----

Board members may be contacted through Legal Services of South Central Michigan.


Tom Daniels

Mr. Daniels was appointed by the Washtenaw County Bar Association. Mr. Daniels is a principal/owner of Pear Sperling Eggan & Daniels, P.C. Mr. Daniels serves on the Friends of Legal Aid steering committee. In 2012, he was awarded the first Washtenaw County Bar Association Pro Bono/Public Service Award. Mr. Daniels also is the Board Chair at Interfaith Hospitality Network and is very active in volunteering at the Delonis Center and Habitat for Humanity.

Vice President

Richard Mills

Mr. Mills was appointed by the Jackson County Bar Association. Mr. Mills is a private attorney specializing in probate and estate matters. Mr. Mills is very involved in the Jackson community and is a Board member of the Jackson County Bar Association.


Delphia Simpson

Ms. Simpson was appointed by the Washtenaw County Bar Association. Ms. Simpson is the Managing Attorney at the Washtenaw County Office of Public Defender. She was formerly the primary family law specialist with the Michigan Poverty Law Program and also was a Racial Justice Attorney with the ACLU. Ms. Simpson is a Washtenaw County Bar Association Board Member and a Board Member of the Ann Arbor NAACP. Ms. Simpson is our immediate prior Board President.


Lawrence Wells

Mr. Wells was appointed by the Shiawassee County Bar Association. Mr. Wells is an attorney and Chief Operating Officer of the Michigan League for Public Policy. He has worked with the league since 1990. Mr. Wells is a former legal aid staff attorney. He is also an accounting instructor at Davenport University and Baker College.

Kent Bieberich

Mr. Bieberich was appointed by the Calhoun County Bar Association. Mr Bieberich is a partner at Steffel & Steffel in Battle Creek. Mr. Bieberich focuses his practice on civil and commercial litigation. Mr. Bieberich is active in bar association activities, including Past President of the Calhoun County Bar Association and past State Bar Representative Assembly member. Mr. Bieberich has participated on LSSCM’s pro bono panel for several years.

Charles Borgsdorf

Mr. Borgsdorf was appointed by the Washtenaw County Bar Association. Mr. Borgsdorf is a partner with Hooper, Hathaway, Price, Beuche & Wallace, P.C. In 1987, he was one of the founders of Friends of Legal Aid –an informal organization that has raised over $1 million for LSSCM. Mr. Borgsdorf continues to serve on the FOLA steering committee.

William Godfroy

Mr. Godfroy was appointed by the Monroe County Bar Association and is a principal at the law firm of Godfroy Wetzel & Horkey, PLC. Mr. Godfroy’s primary practice areas are criminal and domestic relations law. Mr. Godfroy received the Monroe County Pro Bono Award in 2007.

Kassie Gray

Ms. Gray is a former client appointed by Family Counseling and Children's Services in Lenawee County. Ms. Gray is the Assistant to the Executive Director at Community Arts of Tecumseh.

Kirsten Inquilla

Ms. Inquilla was appointed by the Farmworker Legal Services Advisory Board and the State Bar of Michigan. Ms. Inquilla is in private practice in Kalamazoo and is the former Director of the Diocese of Kalamazoo Immigration Assistance Program. Ms. Inquilla is a prior fellow with the National Association of Public Interest Law and the Urban Morgan Institute of International Human Rights.

Charo Ledon

Ms. Ledon is a former LSSCM client and former LSSCM Board member. Ms. Ledon was appointed by Casa Latina. Ms. Ledon works with Casa Latina, an immigration assistance organization and also works as a translator in the Michigan Court System.

Guillermo Martinez

Mr. Martinez was appointed by the Farmworker Legal Services Advisory Board, where he has served as an active member. Mr. Martinez first came to Michigan as a migrant farm worker in the 1950’s. He is now a retired agricultural outreach worker from the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth. Mr. Martinez is also a member of the National Migrant Health Advisory Council.

Janene McIntyre

Ms. McIntyre was appointed by the Lansing Black Lawyer’s Association; she is the current President of the association. Ms. McIntyre is an attorney with the City of Lansing. Ms. McIntyre is a prior associate with Foster, Swift, Collins and Smith and practiced Public Finance law.

Jennifer Myles

Ms. Myles is a former LSSCM client and was appointed by the Jackson County Advisory Board. She volunteers with the AWARE Shelter in Jackson.

Neaarah Orr

Ms. Orr is a former client and was appointed by SafeHouse Center in Washtenaw County. Ms. Orr works in the finance department at Safehouse and is currently pursuing a Bachelors in Nursing.

Teresa Phillips

Ms. Phillips was appointed by the Woman’s Co-op in Battle Creek. Ms. Phillips was one of the founders of the Woman’s Co-op and now serves as the Executive Director. Woman’s Co-Op helps people define life goals and break the cycle of generational poverty.

Lee Reimann

Ms. Reimann is a Shareholder and Director at Willingham Coté, P.C. in East Lansing. She is a member of the firm’s Business and Corporate Law Group. Ms. Reimann is also a Certified Public Accountant. In 2007, Ms. Reimann was instrumental in starting a Friends of Legal Aid campaign for our Lansing office.

Suellyn Scarnecchia

Ms. Scarnecchia was appointed by the Washtenaw County Bar Association. Ms. Scarnecchia is a Clinical Professor of Law in the Human Trafficking Law Clinic at the University of Michigan Law School. Previously, Ms. Scarnecchia served as Vice President and General Counsel of the University of Michigan, as dean of the University of New Mexico School of Law and as Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs at the University of Michigan Law School where she taught in the Child Advocacy Law Clinic.

Mary Kay Scullion

Ms. Scullion was appointed by the Ingham County Bar Association. Ms. Scullion is an adjunct professor at MSU College of Law and faculty at Lansing Community College. Ms. Scullion served with the Michigan House of Representatives for more than 30 years with her most recent positions including Clerk of the House, Assistant Clerk Parliamentarian, and House Democratic legal counsel.

Annie Sherzer

Ms. Sherzer was appointed by the Calhoun County Bar Association. Ms. Sherzer has worked at the W. K. Kellogg Foundation since 1990 and currently is a Program Services Manager. Ms. Sherzer has a Masters in Public Administration and completed law school in 2009.

Sreedevy Viswanathan

Ms. Viswanathan is a former client appointed by MSU Safeplace in Ingham County. She works at Jackson National Life.

Melanie Wandji

Ms. Wandji was appointed by the Clinton County Bar Association. She has a solo practice in St. Johns specializing in juvenile and immigration law.

Document Actions